✤ <u>1. Historical Background:</u>

The first Legislative Assembly in the Gujarat State was constituted in 1960 with a membership of 132. Prior to this also Legislative institutions did exist in one form or the other in various components of the present State. As far back as in 1918, the ruler of the Bhavnagar State, Shri Bhavasinhji, had established an institution called the Peoples' Representative Assembly. The Assembly had 38 members appointed by His Highness. The members had the right to ask questions. After the death of Shri Bhavasinhji, his son and successor, Shri Krishna Kumarsinhji, formed the Bhavnagar Legislative Assembly in 1941 with 55 members, out of which 33 members were elected, 16 were nominated by His Highness and 6 were ex-officio members. The members had the right to ask questions, move resolutions, discuss the Budget and introduce Bills. The Assembly used to meet at least twice a year. Similar was the case with the then Porbandar State Assembly.

In the former Baroda State also, the ruler, Maharaja SayajiraoGaekwad, had formed the Baroda Legislative Assembly as far back as in 1908. Right from 1921, the people of the native States used to send elected representatives to the former Bombay State Legislative Assembly. In 1952, the Saurashtra Legislative Assembly was constituted which continued up to 31 October 1956. Thereafter, Saurashtra State was merged with bigger bilingual Bombay State under the States Reorganisation Act, 1956.

On 1 May 1960, the bilingual Bombay State was bifurcated and a new State of Gujarat was constituted under the Bombay Reorganisation Act, 1960. Accordingly the Gujarat Legislative Assembly was also constituted, and 132 members of the Bombay Legislative Assembly who were elected from Gujarat constituencies, became members of the Gujarat Legislative Assembly. The strength of the Assembly was raised to 154 members in 1962 and to 168 in 1967 and it was further raised to the present strength of 182 in 1975.