## BRIEF HISTORY OF TRIPURA LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY.

Tripura was a Princely State till Government of Indian Dominion took over the Administration in 1949 under an agreement made between the Governor-General of India and His Highness the Maharaja of Tripura which was signed by V.P. Menon, Adviser to the Government of India, Ministry of States, on behalf of the Governor General and by Kanchan Prabha Devi Maharani Regent, Tripura State, on behalf of the Maharaja, who was a minor. According to this Agreement, the Tripura Administration order 1949 was passed by the Government of India on the 15th October, 1949. The Order provided for the appointment of Chief Commissioner and placed him at the Head of the State Tripura.

The New Constitution of India was adopted on the 26th November, 1949 and came into force from January 26th, 1950. Under the Constitution, Tripura was the part C State which were to be administered by the President by a Chief Commissioner or by a Lt. Governor to be appointed by him. Within a month of the merger, the Chief Commissioner introduced a fully bureaucratic set-up.

The Parliament was empowered to allow a council of advisers or ministers to function as the executive of that state for the purpose of aiding the Chief Commissioner. The President appointed three Advisors in the State of Tripura with effect from the 14th April, 1953. The Territorial Council Act, 1956 provided for territorial Council of Tripura composed of 32 Members of whom 30 were elected by the people on the basis of adult suffrage and two were nominated by the Central Government. The term of office of a member of a Territorial Council was five years. Under the Territorial Council Act, the Territorial Council should choose two members of the Council to be respectively Chairman and Vice Chairman. The Tripura Territorial Council worked with limited Power from 1957. The first election of Territorial Council was held in 1957 for 5 years.

The Government of Union Territories Act 1963 was passed in the Month of May, 1963 to provide for Legislative Assembly and Council of Ministers for Certain Union Territories including Tripura .The Administrative head was the Administrator of a Union Territory appointed by the President under Article 239 of the Constitution. This Act provides for Legislative Assembly for each Union Territory with 30 elected Members for Tripura. The Central Government may nominate not more than three persons to be members of the Legislative Assembly. The Government of Union Territories Act, 1963 provides for a Council of Ministers for Tripura with the Chief Minister at the head to aid and advice the Administrator. The Chief Minister shall be appointed by the President and the other Ministers shall be appointed by the President on the advice of the Chief Minister. The Ministers shall hold office during the pleasure of the President. The Council of Ministers shall be collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly. All executive actions shall be expressed to be taken in the name of the Administrator. The Assembly shall have a Speaker and a Deputy Speaker. The Legislative Assembly was extended to all the matters enumerated in the State list and Concurrent list in the Seventh Schedule to the Constitution with supremacy of law made by Parliament in those matters. In the transitional provisions of the Union Territory Act, 1963, the Legislative Assembly of the Union Territory of Tripura, be deemed to have commenced on the 1st August, 1962.

The North Eastern Areas (Reorganization) Act,1971, was passed in the Parliament and assented to by the President on 30th December, 1971. In Tripura this Act was given effect to on and from the 21st January,1972 under which the State of Tripura attained full Statehood of the Indian Union. The State Legislative Assembly became sixty seated according to the Constitution and first election was held in March 1972.