HARYANA VIDHAN SABHA

1st SESSION

BULLETIN NO. 1

Monday, the 4th November, 2019

(Brief record of the proceedings of the meeting of the Haryana Vidhan Sabha held on Monday, the 4^{th} November, 2019 from 2.00 P.M. to 3.57 P.M.)

I. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SECRETARY

The Secretary informed the House that the Governor:-

- (i) In exercise of the powers vested in him by Article 180 (1) of the Constitution of India has appointed Dr. Raghuvir Singh Kadian, M.L.A. as Acting Speaker of the Haryana Vidhan Sabha; and
- (ii) In exercise of the powers conferred on him by Article 188 of the Constitution of India, has appointed the Acting Speaker, Haryana Legislative Assembly, to be the person before whom every Member of the Haryana Legislative Assembly shall, before taking his/her seat, make and subscribe oath/affirmation.

II. OATH/AFFIRMATION BY THE MEMBERS

The Acting Speaker congratulated all the Members on their being elected as Members of the Haryana Vidhan Sabha and also welcomed them to the august House. He announced that the oath/affirmation would be made and subscribed by the Members in the following order as per the call of the Secretary:-

- (i) Chief Minister;
- (ii) Deputy Chief Minister:
- (iii) Lady Members; and
- (iv) Other Hon'ble Members districts-wise alphabetically in alphabetical order.

Thereafter, 89 Members of the Sabha present in the House, were sworn in, one by one.

III. WELCOME TO THE PRESIDENT OF INDIAN NATIONAL CONGRESS PARTY, HARYANA STATE/ FORMER MINISTERS OF HARYANA AND FORMER MEMBER OF HARYANA VIDHAN SABHA.

During the course of oath/affirmation by the Members:-

- (i) the Acting Speaker, on behalf of the House, welcomed Kumari Selja, President of Indian National Congress Party, Haryana State, Capt. Ajay Singh Yadav and Shri Ram Kishan Gurjar, former Ministers of Haryana and Shri Nishan Singh, former Member of Haryana Vidhan Sabha, who were sitting in the VIPs' Gallery to witness the proceedings of the House.
- (ii) the Acting Speaker, on behalf of the House, welcomed Shri Ajay Singh Chautala, Former Member of Parliament and former Member of Haryana Vidhan Sabha, who was sitting in the VIPs' Gallery to witness the proceedings of the House.

IV. ELECTION OF SPEAKER

At 3.24 P.M, The Chief Minister moved-

That Shri Gian Chand Gupta, a Member of the Haryana Legislative Assembly, who is present in the House, do take the Chair as Speaker of the Assembly.

The motion was seconded by the Deputy Chief Minister.

There being no other proposal, the Acting Speaker declared Shri Gian Chand Gupta unanimously elected as Speaker at 3.26 P.M. and requested him to take the Chair.

(Shri Gian Chand Gupta, escorted by the Chief Minister, the Deputy Chief Minister, Leader of the Opposition, Shri Anil Vij and Shri Kanwar Pal, Members from the Treasury Benches, occupied the Chair).

V. CONGRATULATORY SPEECHES

The Chief Minister, Shri Bhupinder Singh Hooda, Leader of the Opposition, Shri Abhay Singh Chautala, Member from the Indian National Lok Dal, Smt. Kiran Choudhry and Shri Varun Chaudhary, Members from the Indian National Congress Party and Shri Randhir Singh Gollen, an Independent Member, made congratulatory speeches.

The Speaker, while thanking the members, made some observations.

VI. ANNOUNCEMENT REGARDING THE RECOGNITION OF LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION

During the course of congratulatory speeches, the Speaker announced that Shri Bhupinder Singh Hooda, Leader of the Indian National Congress Legislature Party, recognized as the Leader of the Opposition in the Haryana Vidhan Sabha.

VII. ANNOUNCEMENT REGARDING ELECTION OF DEPUTY SPEAKER

Under Rule 10 (i) of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Haryana Legislative Assembly, the Speaker announced that he would declare the date in connection with the election of the Deputy Speaker later on.

The Speaker further announced that as the Governor is to address the House at 10.30 A.M. tomorrow i.e. 5th November, 2019 and the House is adjourned till immediately half an hour after the conclusion of the Governor's Address.

The Sabha then adjourned till 10.30 A.M. on Tuesday the 5th November, 2019.

CHANDIGARH the 4th November, 2019.

SECRETARY.