LOK SABHA

BULLETIN - PART I

(Brief Record of Proceedings)

Thursday, August 1, 2019/Shravana 10, 1941(Saka)

No. 34

[@]11.00 A.M.

1. Messages from Rajya Sabha

Secretary-General reported the following messages from Rajya Sabha:-

- (i) That at its sitting held on the 30th July, 2019, Rajya Sabha agreed without any amendment to the Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2019, as passed by the Lok Sabha.
- (ii) That at its sitting held on the 30th July, 2019, Rajya Sabha agreed without any amendment to the Companies (Amendment) Bill, 2019, as passed by the Lok Sabha.
- (iii)[#] That at its sitting held on the 31st July, 2019, Rajya Sabha passed the Motor Vehicles (Amendment) Bill, 2019, with amendments and returned the Bill with the request that the concurrence of Lok Sabha to the amendments be communicated to Rajya Sabha.

2[#] Bill as amended by Rajya Sabha – Laid on the Table

The Motor Vehicles (Amendment) Bill, 2019

[@]11.51 A.M.

*3. Announcement by the Speaker

The Speaker emphasized the need for a Paperless Secretariat and also laid stress on digital payment in the Catering Units in Parliament House Estate.

[®]From 11.00 A.M. to 11.15 A.M. and 11.17 A.M. to 11.51 A.M., Members raised matters of urgent public importance.

[#]At 8.21 P.M.

^{*}Original in Hindi. For details, please see the debate of the day.

12.02 P.M.

4. Government Bill – Passed

The Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Bill, 2019, as passed by Rajya Sabha

Time Taken: 3 Hrs. 23 Mts.

The motion for consideration of the Bill was moved by Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman.

The following members took part in the debate:-

- 1. Shri Gaurav Gogoi
- 2. Dr. Sanjay Jaiswal
- 3. Smt. Kanimozhi Karunanidhi
- 4. Shri Kalyan Banerjee
- 5. Shri Magunta Sreenivasulu Reddy
- 6. Shri Krupal Balalji Tumane
- 7. Dr. Alok Kumar Suman
- 8. Shri B.B. Patil
- 9. Smt. Supriya Sule
- 10. Shri Pinaki Mishra
- 11. Shri Jasbir Singh Gill
- 12. Shri Jayant Sinha
- 13. Shri N.K. Premachandran
- 14. Shri Jayadev Galla
- 15. Shri P.R. Natarajan
- 16. Dr. Amar Singh
- 17. Shri P.P. Chaudhary
- 18. Prof. Sougata Ray

Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman replied to the debate.

The motion for consideration of the Bill was adopted and clause-by-clause consideration of the Bill was taken up.

Clauses 2 and 3 were adopted.

Clause 4 was adopted.

Clauses 5 and 6 were adopted.

Clauses 7 to 9 were adopted.

Clause 1, Enacting Formula and the Long Title were also adopted.

The motion that the Bill be passed was moved by Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman.

The motion was adopted and the Bill, as passed by Rajya Sabha, was passed.

3.26 P.M.

5. Government Bill - Passed

The Protection of Children from Sexual Offences (Amendment) Bill, 2019, as passed by Rajya Sabha

Time Taken: 3 Hrs. 52 Mts.

The motion for consideration of the Bill was moved by Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani.

The following members took part in the debate:-

- 1. Shri SU Thirunavukkarasar
- 2. Dr. Rita Bahuguna Joshi
- 3. Smt. Kanimozhi Karunanidhi
- 4. Smt. Satabdi Roy
- 5. Shri Talari Rangaiah
- 6. Shri Vinayak Raut
- 7. Shri Rajiv Ranjan Singh *alias* Lalan Singh
- 8. Smt. Sarmistha Sethi
- 9. Shri Kotha Prabhakar Reddy
- 10. Smt. Supriya Sule
- 11. Kunwar Danish Ali

- 12. Shri Hasnain Masoodi
- 13. Smt. S. Jothimani
- 14. Shri Nishikant Dubey
- 15. Shri Kalyan Banerjee
- 16. Dr. Pritam Gopinathrao Munde
- 17. Shri D. Ravikumar
- 18. Shri E.T. Mohammed Basheer
- 19. Shri Ram Mohan Naidu Kinjarapu
- 20. Shri Asaduddin Owaisi
- 21. Km. Ramya Haridas
- 22. Shri P.R. Natarajan
- 23. Smt. Sumalatha Ambareesh
- 24. Shri Hanuman Beniwal
- 25. Smt. Darshana Vikram Jardosh
- 26. Shri Thol Thirumaavalavan
- 27. Smt. Kirron Kher
- 28. Shri P. Raveendranath Kumar
- 29. Smt. Jaskaur Meena

Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani replied to the debate.

The motion for consideration of the Bill was adopted and clause-by-clause consideration of the Bill was taken up.

Clause 2 was adopted.

Clauses 3 and 4 were adopted.

Clauses 5 to 11 were adopted.

Clause 1, Enacting Formula and the Long Title were also adopted.

The motion that the Bill be passed was moved by Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani.

The motion was adopted and the Bill, as passed by Rajya Sabha, was passed.

6. Report of Business Advisory Committee

Shri Sudip Bandyopadhyay presented the Seventh Report of Business Advisory Committee.

7.18 P.M.

7. Government Bill – Passed

The Arbitration and Conciliation (Amendment) Bill, 2019, as passed by Rajya Sabha

Time Taken: 1 Hr. 48 Mts.

The motion for consideration of the Bill was moved by Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad.

The following members took part in the debate:-

- 1. Shri Kodikunnil Suresh
- 2. Smt. Meenakashi Lekhi
- 3. Shri A. Raja
- 4. Shri Kalyan Banerjee
- 5. Shri Raghu Rama Krishan Raju Kanumuru
- 6. Shri Kaushlendra Kumar
- 7. Shri Pinaki Mishra
- 8. Shri Nama Nageswar Rao
- 9. Smt. Supriya Sule
- 10. Shri Ram Mohan Naidu Kinjarapu
- 11. Shri Ajay Mishra
- 12. Shri N.K. Premachandran

Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad replied to the debate.

The motion for consideration of the Bill was adopted and clause-by-clause consideration of the Bill was taken up.

Clause 2 was adopted.

Clauses 3 to 9 were adopted.

Clauses 10 to 13 were adopted.

Clauses 14 to 16 were adopted.

Clause 1, Enacting Formula and the Long Title were also adopted.

The motion that the Bill be passed was moved by Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad.

The motion was adopted and the Bill, as passed by Rajya Sabha, was passed.

9.09 P.M.

(Lok Sabha adjourned till 11.00 A.M., Friday, the 2nd August, 2019.)

SNEHLATA SHRIVASTAVA Secretary General