# LOK SABHA

## **BULLETIN – PART I**

(Brief Record of Proceedings)

## Tuesday, July 30, 2019/Shravana 8, 1941(Saka)

## No. 32

### 11.00 A.M.

## **1.** Obituary Reference

The Speaker made reference to the passing away of Shri S. Jaipal Reddy, member of the Eighth and Twelfth to Fifteenth Lok Sabhas.

Thereafter, members stood in silence for a short while as a mark of respect to the memory of the departed.

## 11.03 A.M.

## 2. Papers laid on the Table

The Minister of State in the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs and Minister of State in the Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises (Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal) on behalf of the Minister of State in the Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare (Shri Parshottam Rupala) laid on the Table:-

- (1) (i) A copy of the Annual Report (Hindi and English versions) of the National Centre for Cold-Chain Development, New Delhi, for the years 2011-2012 to 2017-2018, alongwith Audited Accounts.
  - (ii) A copy of the Review (Hindi and English versions) by the Government of the working of the National Centre for Cold-Chain Development, New Delhi, for the years 2011-2012 to 2017-2018.
- (2) Seven statements (Hindi and English versions) showing reasons for

delay in laying the papers mentioned at (1) above.

The Minister of State in the Ministry Rural Development (Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti) laid on the Table a copy of the Annual Report (Hindi and English versions) of the Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act, 2005, for the year 2018-2019.

The Minister of State in the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs and Minister of State in the Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises (Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal) on behalf of the Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance and Minister of State in the Ministry of Corporate Affairs (Shri Anurag Singh Thakur) laid on the Table:-

A copy each of the following Notifications (Hindi and English versions) under sub-section (3) of Section 114A of the Insurance Act, 1938 and Section 27 of the Insurance Regulatory and Dev elopement Authority Act, 1999:-

- The Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority of India (Insurance Brokers) Regulations, 2018 published in Notification No. F. No. IRDAI/Reg/2/149/2018 in Gazette of India dated 19<sup>th</sup> January, 2018.
- (ii) Notification No. F. No. IRDAI/Reg/3/150/2018 published in Gazette of India dated 28<sup>th</sup> February, 2018 repealing the Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority (Standard Proposal Form for Life Insurance) Regulations, 2013 *w.e.f.* the date of publication in the official Gazette.
- (2) Two statements (Hindi and English versions) showing reasons for delay in laying the papers mentioned at (1) above.

(3) A copy each of the following papers (Hindi and English versions) under Article 151(1) of the Constitution:-

 Report of the Comptroller and Auditor General of India-Union Government (Report No. 9 of 2019)-Department of Revenue-Direct Taxes, for the year ended March, 2018.  (ii) Report of the Comptroller and Auditor General of India-Union Government (Report No.11 of 2019)-Department of Revenue (Indirect Taxes-Goods and Services Tax), for the year ended March, 2018.

#### 3. Messages from Rajya Sabha

Secretary-General reported the following messages from Rajya Sabha:-

- (i) That at its sitting held on the 29<sup>th</sup> July, 2019, Rajya Sabha agreed without any amendment to the Banning of Unregulated Deposit Schemes Bill, 2019, as passed by the Lok Sabha.
- (ii)<sup>#</sup> That at its sitting held on the 29<sup>th</sup> July, 2019, Rajya Sabha passed the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Bill, 2019.

## 4. <sup>#</sup>Bill as passed by Rajya Sabha – Laid on the Table

The Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Bill, 2019

#### 11.05 A.M.

#### 5. Submission by Member

Shri Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury made submission regarding failure of Uttar Pradesh Government to maintain law and order and also crime against women in the State.

\*Shri Pralhad Joshi responded.

<sup>%</sup>Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti also responded.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>#</sup>At 1.55 P.M.

<sup>\*</sup>Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Minister of Coal and Minister of Mines \*Minister of State in the Ministry of Rural Development

#### 11.12 A.M.

#### 6. Government Bill – Passed

The Consumer Protection Bill, 2019

Time Taken: 3 Hrs. 55 Mts.

The motion for consideration of the Bill was moved by Shri Ram Vilas Paswan.

Shri Raosaheb Dadarao Danve also spoke on the Bill.

The following members took part in the debate:-

- 1. Shri Rajendra Agarwal
- 2. Shri Durga Prasad Rao Balli
- 3. Dr. G. Ranjith Reddy
- 4. Dr. M.K. Vishnu Prasad
- 5. Dr. Veeraswamy Kalanidhi
- 6. Smt. Pratima Mondal
- 7. Shri Rahul Ramesh Shewale
- 8. Shri Chandeshwar Prasad
- 9. Shri Ramesh Chandra Majhi
- 10. Shri Girish Chandra
- 11. Shri Saptagiri Ulaka
- 12. Shri Ajay Mishra
- 13. Shri Jayadev Galla
- 14. Shri Girish Bhalchandra Bapat
- 15. Smt. Supriya Sule
- 16. Shri Hasnain Masoodi
- 17. Smt. Aparajita Sarangi
- 18. Shri E.T. Mohammed Basheer
- 19. Adv. A.M. Ariff
- 20. Shri Asaduddin Owaisi
- 21. Shri Janardan Mishra
- 22. Smt. Anupriya Patel

- 23. Shri P. Ravindranath Kumar
- 24. Shri N.K. Premachandran
- 25. Shri Thol Thirumaavalavan

Shri Ram Vilas Paswan replied to the debate.

The motion for consideration of the Bill was adopted and clause-byclause consideration of the Bill was taken up.

Clauses 2 and 3 were adopted.

Clauses 4 and 5 were adopted.

Clauses 6 to 9 were adopted.

Clauses 10 to 14 were adopted.

Clause 15 was adopted.

Clauses 16 and 17 were adopted.

Clauses 18 to 27 were adopted.

Clauses 28 to 38 were adopted.

Clauses 39 to 41 were adopted.

Clause 42 was adopted.

Clause 43 was adopted.

Clauses 44 to 53 were adopted.

Clause 54 was adopted.

Clauses 55 to 99 were adopted.

Clauses 100 to 107 were adopted.

Clause 1, Enacting Formula and the Long Title were also adopted.

The motion that the Bill be passed was moved by Shri Ram Vilas Paswan. The motion was adopted and the Bill was passed.

#### 3.07 A.M.

#### 7. Government Bill – Passed

The Code on Wages, 2019

Time Taken: 4 Hrs. 01 Mt.

The motion for consideration of the Bill was moved by Shri Santosh Kumar Gangwar.

The following members took part in the debate:-

- 1. Shri Kodikunnil Suresh
- 2. Dr. Virendra Kumar
- 3. Shri D. Ravikumar
- 4. Prof. Sougata Ray
- 5. Shri N. Reddeppa
- 6. Shri Gajanan Kirtikar
- 7. Shri Dulal Chandra Goswami
- 8. Shri Chandra Sekhar Sahu
- 9. Shri Malook Nagar
- 10. Shri Nama Nageswar Rao
- 11. Smt. Supriya Sule
- 12. Shri Pradyut Bordoloi
- 13. Shri Pallab Lochan Das
- 14. Shri Hasnain Masoodi
- 15. Shri E.T. Mohammed Basheer
- 16. Shri P.R. Natarajan
- 17. Shri Jayadev Galla
- 18. Shri Raju Bista
- 19. Shri Thol Thirumaavalavan

- 20. Smt. Jaskaur Meena
- 21. Shri M. Selvaraj
- 22. Shri N.K. Premachandran

Shri Santosh Kumar Gangwar replied to the debate.

The motion for consideration of the Bill was adopted and clause-byclause consideration of the Bill was taken up.

Clauses 2 to 4 were adopted.

Clause 5 was adopted.

Clause 6 was adopted.

Clause 7 was adopted.

Clause 8 was adopted.

Clause 9 was adopted.

Clause 10 was adopted.

Clauses 11 and 12 were adopted.

Clauses 13 and 14 were adopted.

Clauses 15 and 16 were adopted.

Clause 17 was adopted.

Clauses 18 and 19 were adopted.

Clauses 20 to 25 were adopted.

Clauses 26 to 30 were adopted.

Clauses 31 to 38 were adopted.

Clauses 39 to 41 were adopted.

Clauses 42 to 50 were adopted.

Clauses 51 to 53 were adopted.

Clauses 54 to 69 were adopted.

Clause 1, Enacting Formula and the Long Title were also adopted.

The motion that the Bill be passed was moved by Shri Santosh Kumar Gangwar.

The motion was adopted and the Bill was passed.

\*8.10 P.M.

(Lok Sabha adjourned till 11.00 A.M., Wednesday, the 31<sup>st</sup> July, 2019.)

## SNEHLATA SHRIVASTAVA Secretary General